November 2018:

December 2017:

SeisSol at AGU 2017 in New Orleans:

November 2017:

The joint LMU Munich and TU Munich paper "Extreme scale multi-physics simulations of the tsunamigenic 2004 Sumatra megathrust earthquake" wins the Best Paper Award at the SC17 in Denver, Colorado.

More information:

LMU-TUM Research Team Wins Best Paper Award at SC17 

First detailed simulation of 2004 megathrust earthquake

Researchers Create Largest, Longest Multiphysics Earthquake Simulation to Date 


December 2016:

SeisSol at AGU 2016 in San Francisco:

  • Thomas Ulrich and Alice-Agnes Gabriel: "Ruptures on rough faults: insights from numerical simulations using SeisSol" (Talk)
  • Stephanie Wollherr and Alice-Agnes Gabriel "Realistic Physics for Dynamic Rupture Scenarios: The Example of the 1992 Landers Earthquake" (Poster)
  • Elizabeth H. Madden, Iris van Zelst, Thomas Ulrich, Ylona van Dinther and Alice-Agnes Gabriel: "Using New Constraints on Stress and Strength in Dynamic Rupture Models of the M 9.1-9.3 2004 Sumatra-Andaman Earthquake" (Poster)
  • Alice-Agnes Gabriel, Elizabeth H. Madden, Thomas Ulrich and Stephanie Wollherr: "Dynamic rupture scenarios from Sumatra to Iceland - High-resolution earthquake source physics on natural fault systems" (invited contribution)


October 2016:

The presentation "Large Scale I/O of an open-source earthquake simulation package" by Sebastian Rettenberger at the Results and Review Workshop of the High-Performance Computing Centre Stuttgart has been awarded the Golden Spike Award 2016.

August 2015:

SeisSol is now Open Source:

July - Decembter 2015:

Prof. Martin Mai from KAUST was selected as August-Wilhelm Scheer Visiting Professor by TUM-IAS. From July to Decemeber 2015, he will cooperate with SCCS and the Seismology Group at Munich University on HPC-enabled multi-scale dynamic fracture simulations for natural and induced earthquakes.

November 2014:
Alexander Breuer received the 2014 ACM/IEEE Computer Society George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship at the 2014 Supercomputing Conference in New Orleans. See the respective press release on HPCwire

November 2014:
SeisSol has been nominated as finalists of the Gordon Bell Prize 2014 at SC 14.

June 2014:
The paper "Sustained Petascale Performance of Seismic Simulations with SeisSol on SuperMUC" received the PRACE ISC Award 2014 at the International Supercomputing Conference 2014, Leipzig.

June 2014:
Movie presented during the ISC 2014